Next Score View the next score

    British Open

    Sergio Garcia ready to go after his second major title

    Sergio Garcia of Spain talks to the media during a press conference on the second practice day at the British Open Golf Championship at Royal Birkdale in Southport, England, Monday, July 17, 2017. (AP Photo/Dave Thompson)
    Dave Thompson/AP
    Sergio Garcia met with the media at Royal Birkdale after a second day of practice.

    Masters champion Sergio Garcia will be paired with American Zach Johnson and Australian Jason Day when he goes after his second major title at the British Open, beginning Thursday at Royal Birkdale in Southport, England.

    Johnson won the event in 2015, beating Louis Oosthuizen in a four-hole playoff.

    Garcia, the 36-year-old Spaniard, finally won a major when he beat Justin Rose in a playoff at Augusta in April.


    Asked the impossible question Monday — would it mean more to own a green jacket or the British Open’s silver jug? — Garcia said both were amazing.

    Get Today's Headlines in your inbox:
    The day's top stories delivered every morning.
    Thank you for signing up! Sign up for more newsletters here

    ‘‘At the moment, the green jacket means more because I have it,’’ he said. ‘‘But everybody knows how much I love The Open Championship. And I would love to at least have one of them before I hang up the boot. So definitely, it’s something that I would like to achieve. And we’re going to give it a shot this week.’’

    Defending champion Henrik Stenson will start Thursday in a group with Si Woo Kim of South Korea and American Jordan Spieth.

    Surprise US Open winner brooks Koepka starts with Hideki Matsuyama of Japan and Englishman Tommy Fleetwood.

    Other notable pairings include Rickie Fowler, Adam Scott, and Paul Casey; Rory McIlroy, Dustin Johnson, and Charl Schwartzel; and Phil Mickelson, Francesco Molinari, and Marc Leishman, Australia.

    Thursday-Friday (all times Eastern)


    1:35 a.m.-6:36 a.m. — Mark O’Meara, United States; Chris Wood, England; Ryan Moore, United States.

    1:46 a.m.-6:47 a.m. — Phachara Khongwatmai, Thailand; a-Maverick McNealy; Stuart Manley, Wales.

    1:57 a.m.-6:58 a.m. — Stewart Cink, United States; Sandy Lyle, Scotland; Jeunghun Wang, South Korea.

    2:08 a.m.-7:09 a.m. — Paul Broadhurst, England; Thongchai Jaidee, Thailand; Roberto Castro, United States.

    2:19 a.m.-7:20 a.m. — Tom Lehman, United States; Beyong Hun An, South Korea; Darren Fichardt, South Africa.


    2:30 a.m.-7:31 a.m. — Soren Kjeldsen, Denmark; Billy Horschel, United States; Danny Willett, England.

    2:41 a.m.-7:42 a.m. — Matt Fitzpatrick, England; Steve Stricker, United States; Emiliano Grillo, Argentina.

    2:52 a.m.-7:53 a.m. — Jason Dufner, United States; Branden Grace, South Africa; Bryson DeChambeau, United States.

    3:03 a.m.-8:04 a.m. — Alex Noren, Sweden; Russell Knox, Scotland; Ian Poulter, England.

    3:14 a.m.-8:15 a.m. — David Duval, United States; Prayad Marksaeng, Thailand; K.T. Kim, South Korea.

    3:25 a.m.-8:26 a.m. — Younghan Song, South Korea; David Horsey, England; Dyan Frittelli, South Africa.

    3:36 a.m.-8:37 a.m. — Mike Lorenzo-Vera, France; Charles Howell III, United States; Shiv Kapur, India.

    3:47 a.m.-8:48 a.m. — Russell Henley, United States; Fabrizio Zanotti, Paraguay; Peter Uihlein, United States.

    4:03 a.m.-9:04 a.m. — Alexander Levy, France; Brendan Steele, United States; Webb Simpson, United States.

    4:14 a.m.-9:15 a.m. — Wesley Bryan, United States; Anirban Lahiri, India; a-Alfie Plant, England.

    4:25 a.m.-9:26 a.m — Darren Clarke, Northern Ireland; Gary Woodland, United States; a-Harry Ellis, England.

    4:36 a.m.-9:37 a.m. — Padraig Harrington, Ireland; Pat Perez, United States; Thomas Pieters, Belgium.

    4:47 a.m.-9:48 a.m. — Henrik Stenson, United States; Si Woo Kim, South Korea; Jordan Spieth, United States.

    4:58 a.m.-9:59 a.m. — Louis Oosthuizen, South Africa; Justin Rose, England; Justin Thomas, United States.

    5:09 a.m.-10:10 a.m. — Brooks Koepka, United States; Hideki Matsuyama, Japan; Tommy Fleetwood, England.

    5:20 a.m.-10:21 a.m. — J.B. Holmes, United States; Brandt Snedeker, United States; Shane Lowry, Ireland.

    5:31 a.m.-10:32 a.m. — Richard Bland, England; Shaun Norris, South Africa; Luca Cianchetti, Italy.

    5:42 a.m.-10:43 a.m. — Yikeun Chang, South Korea; Chan Kim, United States; Mark Foster, England.

    5:53 a.m.-10:54 a.m. — Sung Kang, South Korea; Tony Finau, United States; Matthieu Pavon, France.

    6:04 a.m.-11:05 a.m. — Alexander Bjork, Sweden; Joe Dean, England; Robert Streb, United States.

    6:15 a.m.-11:16 a.m. — Robert Dinwiddie, England; Julian Suri, United States; Adam Hodkinson, England.

    6:36 a.m.-1:35 a.m. — Andrew Johnston, England; Adam Hadwin, Canada; Todd Hamilton, United States.

    6:47 a.m.-1:46 a.m. — John Daly, United States; Adam Bland, England; a-Connor Syme, Scotland.

    6:58 a.m.-1:57 a.m. — William McGirt, United States; Toby Tree, England; Jamie Lovemark, United States.

    7:09 a.m.-2:08 a.m. — Matthew Griffin, Australia; Austin Connelly, Canada; Matthew Southgate, England.

    7:20 a.m.-2:19 a.m. — Cameron Smith, Australia; Bill Haas, United States; Callum Shinkwin, England.

    7:31 a.m.-2:30 a.m. — Michael Hendry, New Zealand; Brian Harman, United States; Martin Laird, Scotland.

    7:42 a.m.-2:41 a.m. — Ernie Els, South Africa; Ross Fisher, England; Bernd Wiesberger, Austria.

    7:53 a.m.-2:52 a.m. — Tyrrell Hatton, England; Martin Kaymer, Germany; Aaron Baddeley, Australia.

    8:04 a.m.-3:03 a.m. — Zach Johnson, United States; Jason Day, Australia; Sergio Garcia, Spain.

    8:15 a.m.-3:14 a.m. — Andy Sullivan, England; Joost Luiten, Netherlands; David Lipsky, United States.

    8:26 a.m.-3:25 a.m. — Rickie Fowler, United States; Adam Scott, Australia; Paul Casey, England.

    8:37 a.m.-3:36 a.m. — Matt Kuchar, United States; Richie Ramsay, Scotland; Ryan Fox, New Zealand.

    8:48 a.m.-3:47 a.m. — Kevin Kisner, United States; Charley Hoffman, United States; David Drysdale, Scotland.

    9:04 a.m.-4:03 a.m. — Jimmy Walker, United States; Hideto Tanihara, Japan; Thorbjorn Olesen, Denmark.

    9:15 a.m.-4:14 a.m. — Jhonattan Vegas, Venezuela; Brandon Stone, South Africa; Sean O’Hair, United States.

    9:26 a.m.-4:25 a.m. — Daniel Berger, United States; Pablo Larrazabal, Spain; Yuta Ikeda, Japan.

    9:37 a.m.-4:36 a.m. — Paul Lawrie, Scotland; Kevin Chappell, United States; Yusaku Miyazato, Japan.

    9:48 a.m.-4:47 a.m. — Rory McIlroy, Northern Ireland; Dustin Johnson, United States; Charl Schwartzel, South Africa.

    9:59 a.m.-4:58 a.m. — Jon Rahm, Spain; Patrick Reed, United States; Lee Westwood, England.

    10:10 a.m.-5:09 a.m. — Phil Mickelson, United States; Francesco Molinari, Italy; Marc Leishman, Australia.

    10:21 a.m.-5:20 a.m. — Scott Hend, Australia; Rafa Cabrera Bello, Spain; Bubba Watson, United States.

    10:32 a.m.-5:31 a.m. — Paul Waring, England; Kyle Stanley, United States; Kevin Na, United States.

    10:43 a.m.-5:42 a.m. — Gi-Whan Kim, South Korea; Xander Schauffele, United States; Andrew Dodt, Australia.

    10:54 a.m.-5:53 a.m. — Li Haotong, China; Kent Bulle, United States; Haydn McCullen, England.

    11:05 a.m.-6:04 a.m. — Jbe Kruger, South Africa; Nicholas McCarthy, England; Ashley Hall, Australia.

    11:16 a.m.-6:15 a.m. — Ryan McCarthy, Australia; Laurie Canter, England; Sebastian Munoz.