Trump’s presidency: What we got wrong (and right)

When few pundits gave Donald Trump much chance of victory, the Globe Opinion team tried to imagine how the world might look should he keep his campaign promises. Here’s what we got right and wrong.

EDITORIAL

//c.o0bg.com/rf/image_90x90/Boston/2011-2020/2017/04/28/BostonGlobe.com/EditorialOpinion/Images/05931909.jpg As Venezuela slips into chaos, US should consider sanctions

President Trump’s instinctive isolationism is meeting its first regional test in Venezuela.

Michael A. Cohen

//c.o0bg.com/rf/image_90x90/Boston/2011-2020/2017/04/28/BostonGlobe.com/EditorialOpinion/Images/cohen-3548.jpg The week that was — dead on arrival

NAFTA, dead. Obamacare repeal, dead. Draining the swamp, dead. Trump’s obsession with his electoral victory, not dead.

EDITORIAL

//c.o0bg.com/rf/image_90x90/Boston/2011-2020/2017/04/22/BostonGlobe.com/Business/Images/wiggs_Construction_08.jpg ‘70s scandal haunts efforts to fix UMass garage

A corruption scandal over construction of UMass Boston in the ‘70s would be ancient history except for the costly reminder that links the past to the present: the crumbling parking garage that still sprawls beneath the campus at UMass Boston.

Opinion | Mike Stopa

//c.o0bg.com/rf/image_90x90/Boston/2011-2020/2017/04/27/BostonGlobe.com/EditorialOpinion/Images/f72297c17bf64b6796b97f20eb83d762-f72297c17bf64b6796b97f20eb83d762-0.jpg The triumphs of Trump’s first 100 days

We Trump supporters are positively giddy.

SCOT LEHIGH

//c.o0bg.com/rf/image_90x90/Boston/2011-2020/2017/04/27/BostonGlobe.com/EditorialOpinion/Images/Scot_Lehigh_150px-3533.jpg John Kasich keeps his options open

Kasich is on a keep-your-profile-high-and-your-options-open-and-see-what-happens tour.

Dante Ramos

//c.o0bg.com/rf/image_90x90/Boston/2011-2020/2017/04/27/BostonGlobe.com/EditorialOpinion/Images/dante_ramos-3526.jpg The absurdity of the Boston Common shadow debate

Amid a housing shortage, City Hall should encourage as many new units as it can.

JOAN WICKERSHAM

//c.o0bg.com/rf/image_90x90/Boston/2011-2020/2017/04/26/BostonGlobe.com/EditorialOpinion/Images/Joan_Wickersham-3521.jpg Walking in Stockholm, at the mercy of drivers

As I walked along Drottninggatan, I was aware, as never before, of being a pedestrian.

EDITORIAL

//c.o0bg.com/rf/image_90x90/Boston/2011-2020/2017/04/26/BostonGlobe.com/EditorialOpinion/Images/75a117ce48e044f5aa9a2b8c11c60d22-18019c411d9a49438ccb5bdb3504b418-0.jpg Rumors distract from Aaron Hernandez inquiry

Bringing some clarity to what the state knows about the rumors about Hernandez would help clear the way to focus on what really matters in the investigation of his death.

Get the latest

From Globe Opinion

Letters

Trump’s inauspicious start

Readers reflect on the president’s first 100 days.

Michael A. Cohen

The week that was — dead on arrival

NAFTA, dead. Obamacare repeal, dead. Draining the swamp, dead. Trump’s obsession with his electoral victory, not dead.

Opinion | Mike Stopa

The triumphs of Trump’s first 100 days

We Trump supporters are positively giddy.

JOAN WICKERSHAM

Walking in Stockholm, at the mercy of drivers

As I walked along Drottninggatan, I was aware, as never before, of being a pedestrian.

From Globe Ideas

Brainiac

Innovation of the week: SwineTech

This could save farmers a lot of bacon.

Editorial

Keep your eyes on Russia

When daily news is a distraction, it’ll take discipline for citizens to focus on the real issue: Russia.

What we’re saying on Twitter

Read our columnists

//c.o0bg.com/rf/image_90x90/Boston/2011-2020/2014/04/22/BostonGlobe.com/Business/Images/globe10-7635.jpg

Select the name of a staff or contributing columnist to learn more.