Ideas | David Scharfenberg

Extinction is a bummer. Let’s bring back the dead

Some scientists want to revive the passenger pigeon and the woolly mammoth.

Ideas | Tom Emswiler

//c.o0bg.com/rf/image_90x90/Boston/2011-2020/2017/05/23/BostonGlobe.com/Ideas/Images/28taxes.jpg Ax the sales tax (also the income tax)

This dismal math presents an opportunity to revamp the way we generate revenue for the Commonwealth.

Opinion | Stephen Kinzer

//c.o0bg.com/rf/image_90x90/Boston/2011-2020/2017/05/23/BostonGlobe.com/Ideas/Images/U2.jpg My foreign policy mixtape

It’s possible to get a perspective on American foreign policy through rock bands.

Renée Graham

//c.o0bg.com/rf/image_90x90/Boston/2011-2020/2017/05/26/BostonGlobe.com/Ideas/Images/AftVVuEU-1045.jpg Bill Cosby, America’s abusive father

The values that Cliff Huxtable embodied were real, but the man who played him was a lie.

JEFF JACOBY

//c.o0bg.com/rf/image_90x90/Boston/2011-2020/2017/05/26/BostonGlobe.com/Ideas/Images/Jeff_Jacoby_150px-1046.jpg Trump aside, America was not a mistake

A New Yorker essayist asks: “Was the American Revolution such a good idea?” Was it ever.

Ideas | Mark Peters

//c.o0bg.com/rf/image_90x90/Boston/2011-2020/2017/05/25/BostonGlobe.com/Ideas/Images/08a99dda-0683-4484-bd71-dbed579559be.jpg Who’s ‘special’ now? Trump investigator Robert Mueller is only the latest

President Trump now faces a special counsel — but how special is “special”?

Ideas | Q&A

//c.o0bg.com/rf/image_90x90/Boston/2011-2020/2017/05/25/BostonGlobe.com/Ideas/Images/shutterstock_0528.jpg How Milton Bradley’s morality play shaped the modern board game

Facing bankruptcy, Bradley turned to a backup business venture and developed a hit board game. The rest is history.

EDITORIAL

//c.o0bg.com/rf/image_90x90/Boston/2011-2020/2017/05/25/BostonGlobe.com/EditorialOpinion/Images/1a928660e9fc416ca11570ac9500f599-c9ea1c54a3434a1fb3f3df151140a0ed-0.jpg Suicides plague Mass. county jails

Suicides have doubled at county jails in Massachusetts over the last 10 years.

Brainiac

//c.o0bg.com/rf/image_90x90/Boston/2011-2020/2016/04/20/BostonGlobe.com/Lifestyle/Images/gameofthrones15_160.jpg Euphemism: ‘Spinoff’ becomes ‘successor show’

When a TV or movie franchise succeeds, it may never end.

Brainiac

//c.o0bg.com/rf/image_90x90/Boston/2011-2020/2017/05/24/BostonGlobe.com/Ideas/Images/3c933580d2d844caa7a2fc9478e6392c-3c933580d2d844caa7a2fc9478e6392c-0.jpg Big Data: 10 climbs to the top

This one is a record.

Uncommon Knowledge

//c.o0bg.com/rf/image_90x90/Boston/2011-2020/2017/05/23/BostonGlobe.com/Ideas/Images/AP133579523.jpg Military service, jury service, and more

Experiments on perception, race, and more in this week’s Uncommon Knowledge.

Ideas | Sage Stossel

Honoring Memorial Day

Remembering the reason for this holiday weekend.

Ideas

//c.o0bg.com/rf/image_90x90/Boston/2011-2020/2017/05/25/BostonGlobe.com/Ideas/Images/50words0528.jpg Stories in 50 words from Boston Medical Center

The nursing staff of Boston Medical Center recently held a 50 Words writing competition. Here are two of the winning entries.

Brainiac

//c.o0bg.com/rf/image_90x90/Boston/2011-2020/2017/05/25/BostonGlobe.com/Ideas/Images/DubaiPolice.jpg Innovation of the week: RoboCop in Dubai

This RoboCop patrolled an upscale mall in its first outing.

Get the latest

From Globe Opinion

EDITORIAL

Suicides plague Mass. county jails

Suicides have doubled at county jails in Massachusetts over the last 10 years.

Letters

With so much grist, how can we not have a feeding frenzy over Trump-Russia ties?

“What we have seen so far, in four months, has all the makings of a Watergate scandal.” — Ben Myers

Letters

Only so much stock we can put into Mueller’s investigation

Otherwise, Trump “would have prevented Deputy Attorney General Rod Rosenstein from appointing a special counsel.” — Vic Presutti

Letters

In taking our place over animals, we ask the wrong questions

“It is only our compassion and empathy for the pain of so-called lesser beings that will make us truly superior.” — Erin Childs

From Globe Ideas

Opinion | Stephen Kinzer

My foreign policy mixtape

It’s possible to get a perspective on American foreign policy through rock bands.

Ideas | Tom Emswiler

Ax the sales tax (also the income tax)

This dismal math presents an opportunity to revamp the way we generate revenue for the Commonwealth.

What we’re saying on Twitter

Read our columnists

//c.o0bg.com/rf/image_90x90/Boston/2011-2020/2014/04/22/BostonGlobe.com/Business/Images/globe10-7635.jpg

Select the name of a staff or contributing columnist to learn more.