Opinion | Alan Wirzbicki

Playing it safe with the new BPS superintendent?

Boston, MA - 4/21/19 Boston school superintendent candidate Marie Izquierdo (cq) talks to the media after her interview. She was questioned by the school committee, in the second of four open interviews. Photo by Pat Greenhouse/Globe Staff Topic: 23superintendent Reporters: Meghan Irons

Pat Greenhouse/Globe Staff

Marie Izquierdo should be the front-runner. The fact that she’s not says a lot about the city and Mayor Marty Walsh.

SCOT LEHIGH

//c.o0bg.com/rf/image_90x90/Boston/2011-2020/2019/05/01/BostonGlobe.com/EditorialOpinion/Images/Scot_Lehigh_150px-1083.jpg William Barr’s self-inflicted scars

Some of William Barr’s responses didn’t even pass the laugh test.

Michael A. Cohen

//c.o0bg.com/rf/image_90x90/Boston/2011-2020/2019/05/01/BostonGlobe.com/EditorialOpinion/Images/cohen%20(1)-1080.jpg Trump ignores Constitution with his subpoena fight

The president cannot pick and choose the laws he chooses to abide by. Democrats must begin impeachment proceedings.

Opinion | Margery Eagan

//c.o0bg.com/rf/image_90x90/Boston/2011-2020/2019/05/01/BostonGlobe.com/Metro/Images/RinaldiClinton02.jpg Spin tour for the Clintons

What’s the point of their speaking tour? To spin themselves.

Thein Zaw/AP/2018 | Metafora Production via AP

Free Press

Two Reuters reporters and Jamal Khashoggi among ‘10 Most Urgent’ list of press freedom cases

The One Free Press Coalition every month spotlights the “10 Most Urgent” journalists who press freedoms are under threat worldwide.

SCOT LEHIGH

//c.o0bg.com/rf/image_90x90/Boston/2011-2020/2019/04/30/BostonGlobe.com/EditorialOpinion/Images/Scot_Lehigh_150px-1060.jpg Democrats should embrace a carbon tax

It feels as though Democrats are losing sight of the greenest, tallest tree for the broader public-policy forest.

Editorial

//c.o0bg.com/rf/image_90x90/Boston/2011-2020/2019/03/20/BostonGlobe.com/Metro/Images/RinaldiDCFDay102.jpg Thinking big on DCF reforms

Charlie Baker can point to improvements at the Department of Children and Families, but he’s far from achieving systemic reforms.

OPINION | STAN ROSENBERG

//c.o0bg.com/rf/image_90x90/Boston/2011-2020/2019/04/30/BostonGlobe.com/EditorialOpinion/Images/01KIDweb.jpg Being a foster child is traumatic enough. Let’s stop making it worse

We need to do better by our foster children.

Renée Graham

//c.o0bg.com/rf/image_90x90/Boston/2011-2020/2019/04/30/BostonGlobe.com/EditorialOpinion/Images/Graham-1057.jpg Black women aren’t here to save America from itself

When black women vote, we are our own saviors. We aren’t maids charged with cleaning up America’s political messes.

Opinion | Michael Stein and Jon Kingsdale

//c.o0bg.com/rf/image_90x90/Boston/2011-2020/2019/04/29/BostonGlobe.com/EditorialOpinion/Images/ACAFweb.jpg The risks of ‘Medicare for all’

The alternative to the proposal is adequate funding of the Affordable Care Act.

Letters

Letters

//c.o0bg.com/rf/image_90x90/Boston/2011-2020/2019/05/01/BostonGlobe.com/EditorialOpinion/Images/Clipboard-1089.jpg Reducing addiction requires tackling workplace injuries

“Reducing the occurrence of painful workplace injuries and illnesses will reduce opioid addiction commensurately.”

Get the latest

From Globe Opinion

LETTERS

Professor’s defense of legacy admissions is questionable

"Brown may be a nonprofit, but it is not a charity. Paying customers are its best customers."

LETTERS

Trump’s executive order puts Jews in a dangerous classification

"The executive order that classifies Jews as a race ignores historical experience and the catastrophic results that defining Jews in racist terms have had in the past."

LETTERS

The sorry state of Boston school bathrooms

Readers react to a story in The Great Divide series on the appalling state of Boston school bathrooms.

LETTERS

He looks at our corroded politics from one side now

"The frequency, vehemence, and maliciousness of Donald Trump’s rhetorical offenses are unprecedented."

From Globe Ideas

OPINION

Hope is not enough

We need mass mobilization to take on climate change.

OPINION

Why I strike

Student leaders of the climate change movement say we need more than hope -- we need visionary legislation.

What we’re saying on Twitter

Read our columnists

//c.o0bg.com/rf/image_90x90/Boston/2011-2020/2014/04/22/BostonGlobe.com/Business/Images/globe10-7635.jpg

Select the name of a staff or contributing columnist to learn more.