Opinion | Alan Wirzbicki

Playing it safe with the new BPS superintendent?

Boston, MA - 4/21/19 Boston school superintendent candidate Marie Izquierdo (cq) talks to the media after her interview. She was questioned by the school committee, in the second of four open interviews. Photo by Pat Greenhouse/Globe Staff Topic: 23superintendent Reporters: Meghan Irons

Pat Greenhouse/Globe Staff

Marie Izquierdo should be the front-runner. The fact that she’s not says a lot about the city and Mayor Marty Walsh.

SCOT LEHIGH

//c.o0bg.com/rf/image_90x90/Boston/2011-2020/2019/05/01/BostonGlobe.com/EditorialOpinion/Images/Scot_Lehigh_150px-1083.jpg William Barr’s self-inflicted scars

Some of William Barr’s responses didn’t even pass the laugh test.

Michael A. Cohen

//c.o0bg.com/rf/image_90x90/Boston/2011-2020/2019/05/01/BostonGlobe.com/EditorialOpinion/Images/cohen%20(1)-1080.jpg Trump ignores Constitution with his subpoena fight

The president cannot pick and choose the laws he chooses to abide by. Democrats must begin impeachment proceedings.

Opinion | Margery Eagan

//c.o0bg.com/rf/image_90x90/Boston/2011-2020/2019/05/01/BostonGlobe.com/Metro/Images/RinaldiClinton02.jpg Spin tour for the Clintons

What’s the point of their speaking tour? To spin themselves.

Thein Zaw/AP/2018 | Metafora Production via AP

Free Press

Two Reuters reporters and Jamal Khashoggi among ‘10 Most Urgent’ list of press freedom cases

The One Free Press Coalition every month spotlights the “10 Most Urgent” journalists who press freedoms are under threat worldwide.

SCOT LEHIGH

//c.o0bg.com/rf/image_90x90/Boston/2011-2020/2019/04/30/BostonGlobe.com/EditorialOpinion/Images/Scot_Lehigh_150px-1060.jpg Democrats should embrace a carbon tax

It feels as though Democrats are losing sight of the greenest, tallest tree for the broader public-policy forest.

Editorial

//c.o0bg.com/rf/image_90x90/Boston/2011-2020/2019/03/20/BostonGlobe.com/Metro/Images/RinaldiDCFDay102.jpg Thinking big on DCF reforms

Charlie Baker can point to improvements at the Department of Children and Families, but he’s far from achieving systemic reforms.

OPINION | STAN ROSENBERG

//c.o0bg.com/rf/image_90x90/Boston/2011-2020/2019/04/30/BostonGlobe.com/EditorialOpinion/Images/01KIDweb.jpg Being a foster child is traumatic enough. Let’s stop making it worse

We need to do better by our foster children.

Renée Graham

//c.o0bg.com/rf/image_90x90/Boston/2011-2020/2019/04/30/BostonGlobe.com/EditorialOpinion/Images/Graham-1057.jpg Black women aren’t here to save America from itself

When black women vote, we are our own saviors. We aren’t maids charged with cleaning up America’s political messes.

Opinion | Michael Stein and Jon Kingsdale

//c.o0bg.com/rf/image_90x90/Boston/2011-2020/2019/04/29/BostonGlobe.com/EditorialOpinion/Images/ACAFweb.jpg The risks of ‘Medicare for all’

The alternative to the proposal is adequate funding of the Affordable Care Act.

Letters

Letters

//c.o0bg.com/rf/image_90x90/Boston/2011-2020/2019/05/01/BostonGlobe.com/EditorialOpinion/Images/Clipboard-1089.jpg Reducing addiction requires tackling workplace injuries

“Reducing the occurrence of painful workplace injuries and illnesses will reduce opioid addiction commensurately.”

Get the latest

From Globe Opinion

EDITORIAL

Renters, homeowners need immediate protections

Stay-at-home order puts housing in the spotlight and longer term fixes on the legislative agenda too.

OPINION

Trump’s leadership on the coronavirus — horrendous or outstanding?

Where most Democrats see lying and stupidity, most Republicans see optimism and hope.

OPINION

In the midst of the coronavirus pandemic, we must have those serious illness conversations

The goal is for both physicians and patients to arrive at a shared understanding of patients’ priorities should they be diagnosed with COVID-19.

OPINION

Coronavirus crisis frames our election choice

Democrats want to protect and expand the ACA. Republicans want to roll it back.

From Globe Ideas

Why is it so hard to stay inside?

It seems like a simple request. So why aren't we all doing it?

IDEAS

‘The strong get stronger’: The coronavirus pandemic will exacerbate some of the most worrisome trends in American life — unless we take action

Crises don't wipe the slate clean. They elevate existing tendencies.

What we’re saying on Twitter

Read our columnists

//c.o0bg.com/rf/image_90x90/Boston/2011-2020/2014/04/22/BostonGlobe.com/Business/Images/globe10-7635.jpg

Select the name of a staff or contributing columnist to learn more.